Premier Ford provides a COVID-19 update | July 13

Stage 3 of Reopening

As Ontario continues to see a decline in COVID-19 cases, hospitalizations and deaths, Premier Doug Ford announced today that the majority of the province will be allowed to move to Stage 3 of reopening, effective Friday, July 17 at 12:01 a.m.

All regions in Ontario may reopen for Stage 3, with the exception of:

  • Toronto

  • York

  • Peel

  • Durham

  • Niagara

  • Windsor-Essex

  • Haldimand-Norfolk

  • Halton

  • Hamilton

  • Lambton

Nearly all businesses may reopen with strict sanitization and physical distancing measures, including (but not limited to):

  • Dine-in restaurants

  • Bars

  • Gyms

  • Most personal care services

  • Movie theatres

  • Casinos

  • Team sports and sporting events

Gathering numbers also increased to:

  • Indoor gatherings of up to 50 people

  • Outdoor gatherings of up to 100 people

There will be an update from the provincial government every Monday on further regional reopenings. You can read the full media release here.


Minister of Education Stephen Lecce announced that all Ontario childcare centres will be permitted to operate in increased cohorts of 15 children as of July 27.

*Above summary by Enterprise Canada