Premier Ford provides a COVID-19 update | June 15

In his daily COVID-19 briefing, Premier Doug Ford announced that as of this coming Friday seven more regions will be allowed to move into Stage 2 re-opening:

  • Durham

  • Hamilton

  • York

  • Halton

  • Niagara

  • Haldimand-Norfolk

  • Sarnia-Lambton County

This leaves three regions still in Stage 1 lockdown: Toronto, Peel and Windsor-Essex. Premier Ford pleaded for patience in these regions, expressing optimism that they will be allowed to loosen pandemic restrictions “very, very soon.”

You can read the full news release here.


Minister of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries Lisa MacLeod announced $13 million in aid to Ontario’s tourism industry. Acknowledging the need to build confidence to encourage consumers to return to pre-pandemic behaviour, she said she will be travelling around the province to promote tourism, starting in Niagara Falls this Friday.

CSA Group Testing

Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade Minister Vic Fedeli announced $526,000 for testing and certification from the CSA Group for medical-grade equipment made in Ontario. He said the funding is aimed at increasing capacity for critical products such as masks and gowns to be tested and certified in Ontario.

*Above summary by Enterprise Canada